Night-thief by Guillermo V. Sison

There is a woman’s soul that lingers long

Around my home tonight, in dreams it calls

Like love: (Is it the winf’s soft whistling song?)

I hear it come, its foot so lightly falls,

And tiptoes on the carpet of the floor;

Then like a night-thief stealing, steals from me

A kiss that keeps me dreaming, wishing more.

For I, half-feigning who this kisser be,

Arose to catch the golden threads that gleamed-

Now fallen fancies, broken at my feet.

Would I had never walked but only dreamed

And ne’er pursued this soul I failed to meet:

It’s gone, no footprint tells it graced my room;

Outside is darkness, and inside is gloom.

Leave a Reply

